LOVE-The Four Letter word with four different meanings.

 It is a season of love and it is worth nothing that the English word LOVE is a derivation from four Greek words- Eros, Storge, Philia and Agape.


Eros is generally love that is intimate, sensual and erotic. The word erotic is actually derived from Eros. As the name suggests, Eros is love that is sexual in nature.  In it‘s abused form, eros manifests in many forms- Lust, fornication, adultery and the likes. Eros when not rightly expressed can become abusive, exploitative and manipulative.


Storge is commonly referred to as familia and it depicts love that is shared amongst family members.Storge is natural affection. Marital love usually evolves from storge.


Philia refers to friendship. It is a level of affection shared purely by friends and can generally be described as platonic.


  • “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.“ John 15:13

Agape love is the highest form of love. It is love that is unconditional. This kind of love is selfless and puts the interest of others first regardless of the results. Agape love is the kind of love God manifested towards us when He sent Jesus down in the form of man to die to reconcile humanity to Himself.

  • “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.“ John 3:16
  • “Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.“1 John 4:10

Agape love is the love we should all strive to emulate. Yes we are human, we will not be able to fully extend this kind of love, but even in our humaness, we can allow ourselves to be vessels through which God can love.

  • “Beloved, if God so loved us, we ought also to love one another.“ 1 John 4:11 


Popular posts from this blog

Five Tips For Sharing The Gospel Online

Depart From Me...I Am A Sinful Man

Life Under The Providence Of God.